President Buhari approves new NDDC board

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved a 16-man new board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), with Dr. Pius Odubu from Edo State as the chairman.

However, according to a statement signed by the Permanent Secretary (General Services Office), Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Olusegun Adekunle, on behalf of the SGF, the appointment is subject to the confirmation of the Senate.

It would be recalled that Prof. Nelson Brambaifa was the Acting MD of the NDDC.

The statement read: “President Muhammadu Buhari, has, subject to Senate confirmation, approved the composition of the Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) made up of the following persons:

S/N        Position                Name    State

1              Chairman            Dr. Pius Odubu  Edo

2              Managing Director          Bernard O. Okumagba   Delta

3              Executive Director Projects         Engr. Otobong Ndem     Akwa Ibom

4              Executive Director Finance & Admin.      Maxwell Okoh   Bayelsa

5              Delta Rep            Prophet Jones Erue         Delta

6              Edo Rep              Chief Victor Ekhatar        Edo

7              Rivers Rep          Dr. Joy Yimebe Nunieh  Rivers

8             Abia Rep             Nwogu Nwogu  Abia

9             Bayelsa Rep        Theodore A. Allison         Bayelsa

10           Akwa Ibom Rep Victor Antai        Akwa Ibom

11           Cross River Rep Maurice Effiwatt              Cross River

12           Ondo Rep            Olugbenga Elema             Ondo

13           Imo Rep               Hon. Uchegbu Chidiebere Kyrian               Imo

14           Northwest Rep Aisha Murtala Muhammed          Kano

15           Northeast Rep   Ardo Zubairu      Adamawa

16           Southwest Rep Engr. Badmus Mutalib    Lagos

“The interim management headed by Prof. Nelson Brambaifa has been directed to hand-over to the most senior Director in the Commission.

“The Chairman and members of the newly composed Governing Board are by this release invited to the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation on Monday, 2nd September, 2019 at 2.00 p.m for proper documentation and briefing. They are to come along with their updated CVs and valid identification.”