Amnesty Programme – PANDEF set up 16-Member committee to interface with FG

Niger Delta elders under the aegis of the Pan Niger Delta Forum (PANDEF) have set up a 16-member bipartisan regional Presidential Amnesty committee to interface with the Federal Government to further strengthen the amnesty programme.

Air Commodore Nkanga (rtd) is the head of the committee, while the former governor of Edo state, Professor Osariemhe Osunbor is the co-chairman.

Other members nominated, include: Ambassador Godknows Igali, Prof G. G. Darah, Chief Timi Alaibe, Hon Chibudom Nwuche, Col. Tony Nyiam (rtd), HH Sara Igbe, Chief Don Etiebet, Mrs Nella Andem-Rabana SAN, Chief Mike Loyibo and Prince Maikpobi Okareme.

According to ThisDay, this was contained in a statement by the former Secretary General of Traditional Rulers of Oil Mineral Producing Communities of Nigeria (TROMPCON), Prince Maikpobi Okareme, who is also a member of the committee.

Recently, the Special Adviser to the President on Niger Delta and Coordinator, Presidential Amnesty Programme, Brig-Gen. Paul Boroh (rtd), noted that the Presidential Amnesty Programme has met its mandate of ensuring peace stability in the Niger Delta region through its training and empowerment of ex-militants.

Under the Buhari administration, the PAP has empowered over 4,000 ex-militants through the establishment of businesses such as agriculture (cluster farms). While over 3,000 ex-militants are in various stages of Vocational Training and University Scholarship Programmes.

In the same vein, the Amnesty Office has initiated the training of 10,000 beneficiaries in modern agriculture and established them into 10,000 hectare cluster farms in the nine (9) Niger Delta States.