Akwa United FC of Uyo win AITEO Cup

On an exciting evening of football at the Agege Stadium, Lagos, 2015 champions of Nigeria’s oldest and biggest domestic competition, Akwa United FC of Uyo on Sunday retained the title, now named AITEO Cup.

After a 0-0 scoreline at the end of 90 minutes, the Promise Keepers prevailed 3-2 after penalty shoot –out to become the first winners of the AITEO trophy.

during the 2017 Aiteo Cup Final match between Akwa United v Niger Tornadoes on October 15th 2017 at Agege Stadium Lagos
©Kabiru Abubakar/fotodezamora

Victory handed Akwa United, whose goalkeeper Olorunleke Ojo won both the Best Goalkeeper and Most Valuable Player awards and whose Coach, Abdu Maikaba was adjudged the Best Coach, a ticket to represent Nigeria in the 2018 CAF Confederation Cup competition.

Akwa United forward Christian Pyagbara also claimed the Top Scorer’s award with his seven goals in this year’s competition.

The colourful final was watched by eminent personalities, including Governors Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos), Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom) and Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger State), CAF President Ahmad, CAF Vice Presidents Kwesi Nyantakyi and Omari Selemani, CAF Emergency Committee members Souleman Waberi and Amaju Melvin Pinnick, Executive Committee members of NFF, chieftains of sponsors AITEO, NFF Management, Members of the Lagos State Executive Council and members of the diplomatic community.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *